What I am Listening To

I have noticed that some blogs have a side bar with music that, that particular blogger is listening to. I don’t have one of those, so I decided to post on it. I purchased the Linkin Park “Minutes to Midnight” on a whim, never really having listened to it and I must say, I am really enjoying it.

linkin-park-minutes-to-midnight.jpg

This album serves as a bit of a social commentary, ok ‘a lot’ a bit of social commentary. My favorite song at the moment is “Hands held High” which discusses the war going on right now. Here is an excerpt from the song:

“For a leader so nervous in an obvious way stuttering and mumbling for nightly news to replay and the rest of the world watching at the end of the day In their living room laughing like “what did he say?. Amen, Amen, Amen, Amen, Amen.”

Not only is it a commentary, but also like a prayer. Amen, Amen, Amen, Amen, Amen. Talk about the book of “uncommon prayer”. This songs seems an odd place to find a prayer, but aren’t our lives filled with prayer,even uncommon prayer. What makes a proper prayer?

8 comments
  1. sirojs said:

    About the song and the war…I’m glad at least your raised this issue. I wish we could discuss more and I wish our church could be more of a voice. Thanks for this. Regarding prayer, I like your question…is there a proper prayer? I suspect when it is too proper, it is not really a prayer…since prayer comes from the depth of one’s heart and it is not quite proper.

  2. Melissa said:

    Sirojs, I agree with you about a proper prayer not really being a prayer. My four year old prays and I know sometimes it doesn’t always make sence or worded correctly, but I do know God honors his prayer as much as mine. Yes, I too beleive it is from one’s heart that a prayer is formed. I also beleive that a prayer is not a wish list either. Good topic!

  3. sirojs said:

    Melissa, funny you mentioned the wish list. Growing up that was my prayer life. And at times I still feel guilty not running down the list in my prayer. I do long for a place where an invitation is extended for the prayer that speaks from the depth of our hearts…where you can really feel the texture, sound, and senses of your prayer. The Psalms is a great example i think…lament…is one of the greatest form of prayer.

  4. Siroj, I think that lament is when we are bare to the bones, stripped, who we are really are. It’s like the silence you refer to in a previous post of yours. In our church we are journeying through the Psalms over the summer because it helps us with out faith to experience life through the eyes of others. I think one of the reasons I really like this song, is because the raw expression of frustration and yet hope. Isn’t prayer often like that?

  5. Melissa, I think that prayer sometimes does work as a “wish list” almost like God is a cosmic Santa Claus. I know that this is not at all what God is like, but when we read through the Psalms we find that God is the God of deliverance, of hope and redemption- all through everything we experience.

  6. Melissa said:

    I guess I can see where you would have God be a “cosmic Santa Claus”. God wants us to come to him for anything and everything and if that means asking him for something then I guess it’s ok. I guess it’s hard to define the fine line of prayer, I know I get selfish sometimes and give him a list of what I want and forget to thank Him of His mercy and grace.

  7. sirojs said:

    I have to rethink what I said about ‘wish list.’ Thanks for your reflection on this. Perhaps a wish list can be really great if it were to reflect what we really long for even though it may sound ‘selfish’ because what comes from the heart, God will always listen to.

  8. Yes, behind everything there is always something else. Everything always seems to be about something deeper. Prayer is no different, we must learn to strip away all of the layer of who we are, and get to the core. There is always something deeper, especially when that deeper place is our soul.

Leave a Reply

